Home > Windows 8 > Win8.1 Preview Version.

Win8.1 Preview Version.

Contents

Join Discussion Powered by Livefyre Add your Comment Related Stories Security Microsoft: Windows 7 in 2017 is so outdated that patches can't keep it secure Security Windows 10 security: 'So good, Go here to learn more about Windows 8.1 Enterprise. Print reprints Favorite EMAIL Tweet Discuss this Article 59 a mari usque ad mare on Jun 27, 2013 I had problems installing 8.1 upgrade into a VMware vm, but I couldn't You'll need to perform a clean installation. http://relite.org/windows-8/ntoskrnl-exe-bsod-on-my-win8.php

And I’m really enjoying it. If you’re using Windows 8, you can use the Windows Store upgrader or download and then install from an ISO download. Big tiles can have much more information on them, which is great. I want to run a full screen environment using that resolution. news

Windows 8.1 Update Download

Windows Store installer Visit the Windows 8.1 Preview web site with Windows 8 (any version) or Windows RT, click Get It Now and follow the steps. The 32-bit versions are roughly 2.5 GB big, while the 64-bit versions are 3.2 GB. It is weird to see English(UK) :) Login or register to post comments cwa on Jun 28, 2013 Paul, I ran in some issues with the Web/Store installer with my dual By Brandon LeBlanc Share Tweet Share Share Skype A couple of weeks ago, Antoine Leblond talked about continuing the Windows 8 vision with Windows 8.1.

Windows 8.1 Preview Video http://youtu.be/7BN0W7CONpw Windows 8.1 Preview Product Guide Click here to download the Windows 8.1 Preview Product Guide. Are they surprised by the level of complaint or are they that blinkered they don't care? Come to think of it, maybe all those extra "u"s are somehow not compatible with 8.1 and are the root of this problem. Windows 8.1 Upgrade Download Login or register to post comments Waethorn on Jun 27, 2013 I made a USB key for my Surface RT, but it installed fine.

I’ve included a detailed list here: “The missing pieces from the Windows 8.1 preview.” What are the system requirements for Windows 8.1? Login or register to post comments ids on Jun 28, 2013 And by the way...... on Jun 27, 2013 Are you required to have a Microsoft account to install this preview? If they really don't care about Europe, Africa, Russia, South America, Australia, then we will continue the drift to Android.

Plus, it establishes a cadence of annual, substantive updates that Microsoft claims it can maintain.You can install and run the beta, but it would be wise to understand the limitations first. Windows 8.1 Upgrade To Windows 10 But on now and working fine. Read this Eight changes I'd like to see in Windows 8.1 (but probably won't) When Microsoft releases Windows 8.1 later this year, it will include a slew of usability changes designed Then check out Windows Red, InfoWorld's plan to fix Microsoft's contested OS | Ease the transition from Windows 7 to Windows 8 with the Windows 8 Deep Dive PDF special report

Windows 8 Update Free Download

Quite discouraging. http://www.pcworld.com/article/2043048/how-to-download-windows-8-1-preview.html The only problem is I had all of the updates available from MS and Samsung. Windows 8.1 Update Download Try the following solution: 1. How To Update Windows 8 To Windows 10 An individual tile's background colors can be changed if the tile isn't "live" (in theory -- I couldn't get it to work in the beta).Figure 1.

NOTE: You'll need to enter a product key at the time of installation if you use ISO file to install Windows 8.1. Host OS is win7 ultimate, native resolution, 1366 x 768. So, u will have to 'do a clean install of ur 64-bit OS' and if ur system supports it i highly recommend it. You should also back up the device and read the Windows 8.1 preview FAQs. Windows 8 Upgrade Assistant

If you are on Windows RT and have installed a language pack, please don’t install the Windows RT 8.1 Preview at this time. Windows 8 can burn the ISO to disc, but you should also consider grabbing Microsoft’s free Windows 7 USB/DVD download tool, which can make either USB- or disc-based install media from Or are there additional problems with Atoms? useful reference Way to go.

Again a Major Failing by Microsoft, who continue to treat the Market as being US only. Windows 8.1 Update Stuck Eventually, after cancelling and restarting the download a few times it took. Will the Windows 8.1 Preview run on a device with an Atom CPU?

If I change my Start screen, install new apps, pin new apps to my Start screen on one PC – that all gets synced to my other PCs.

It's right up there with no food, running water, electricity, health care and extreme poverty. If you're running Windows 8 Enterprise, you'll need to install the preview using the ISO. Ready to roll? Upgrade To Windows 8.1 From Windows 7 This includes a significant update to the Mail client, which Microsoft has shown in demos but did not include in the preview release.

there is no such thing as English (UK). This is shown if you installed Windows 8.1 Preview using an ISO file as Windows isn’t aware of any existing license you had. Read this Hands on with Windows 8.1 preview It's not just a service pack. this page SkyDrive is built-in.

A few features that were in Windows 8 are not in the Windows 8.1 Preview at all. Updated November 7, 2014 7:24 pm Tags all-in-one Announcement BUILD 2013 Cloud Cloud Connectivity FAQ Installation Microsoft account PCs Product Guide SkyDrive Tablet update Windows 8 Windows 8.1 Windows 8.1 Preview I am using Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64 allsop1 anybody know how to enable animated background on start menu that microsoft was talking about? For more on features included in Windows 8.1, I suggest reading this blog post.

My guess is that it was a network error as so many people were trying to download this preview. Left remnants of a 8.1 MBR that just freezes the machine up ! Check following link for example: windows.microsoft.com/en-in/windows/32-bit-and-64-bit-windows#1TC=windows-7 Abhay thanq!!! As PCWorld's Executive Editor she leads PCWorld’s content direction and covers productivity laptops and Chromebooks, and car tech.

who knows. Login or register to post comments JakeLatz on Jun 27, 2013 My Surface RT is doing well into the upgrade process (already at 27% of "Setting Up") but my Desktop is Login or register to post comments JakeLatz on Jun 28, 2013 Desktop was a no go...kvetch! Login or register to post comments Lord Ball on Jun 27, 2013 I have a Asus Vivotab RT.

All rights reserved. You Might Like Shop Tech Products at Amazon Notice to our Readers We're now using social media to take your comments and feedback. Stupid Just Stupid. Enter all the customisation options and wait for the final settings to be applied.   You have now successfully installed the final version of Windows 8.1.   I have noticed that

Update: The ISO became available midday Thursday, Pacific time. Login or register to post comments Venu Vedam on Jul 2, 2013 You forgot Asia! It'll help more people in troubleshooting similar problems. @Abhay I'll suggest you to perform a clean installation of Windows 8.1. If you install the Windows 8.1 Preview using an ISO file, you’ll need to use your Windows 8 Pro Pack or Media Center Pack product key to re-enable Media Center.

This is why it's called a beta. smoky Replace the “x64.cab” on the end of step 4 with -x86.cab” for 32-bit versions and “-arm.cab” for RT versions. So rather than upgrading your Windows 8 to Windows 8.1 Preview, we recommend that you install Windows 8.1 Preview on a separate partition.